New Painting- Making a present of mushrooms.

This painting marks a deviation from the historical and city scape subjects I have been dealing with recently.  It was given by me to my partner for her birthday just past.  The image is taken from a photo I made back when we lived in Vancouver.  I had started this painting a year ago as an exercise, but abandoned it for practical reasons as I could not bear my studio in the basement (the odour of our basement not being conducive to creative focus).mushrooms Having moved my studio space to a better location with more light and less stink I returned to painting, but left the mushrooms in the basement.

Until one day when Fax mentioned how much she liked the mushrooms I had started. Being a cheap bastard, and with her birthday fast approaching I decided to invest a few hours of elbow grease and produce a painting for her and have it framed.

Now that she has chosen a place to hang it I decided to share the painting on my blog.  I’m happy with how it turned out.  Having it framed made a huge difference and really sets off the piece well. She is very happy with it too, which is the most important thing.mushrooms_II

 

Technical details.

Mushrooms.
Acrylic paint and ink on
ceramic tile.
10cm (w) x 39.5cm (h) (not including frame).

High Resolution versions may be seen here.

About Kevin D. Bell

Painter, writer, amateur historian.
This entry was posted in Painting, etc. and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Painting- Making a present of mushrooms.

  1. mikulpepper says:

    Amanita muscaria. Now I’m looking for the dwarf that lives underneath.

  2. Great pic K-Money, reminds me of this video from my first year at University – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EIyixC9NsLI

Leave a Reply

